Home > Uncategorized > Uncovering Apostolic Ministry from the New Testament

Uncovering Apostolic Ministry from the New Testament

image284.jpg

1. By definition apostles are first on the scene and always looking to take the gospel where Christ is not known.

Romans 15:20
It has always been my ambition to preach the gospel where Christ was not known, so that I would not be building on someone else’s foundation

2. Apostles lay foundations: planting and watering.

1 Cor 3: 6-11
I planted, Apollos watered, but God gave the growth… as a skilled master builder I have laid a foundation, and another builds on it. But each one must be careful how he builds on it.

3. Apostles are fathers (mothers).

1 Cor 4: 14-17
For you can have 10,000 instructors in Christ, but you can’t have many fathers. Now I have fathered you in Christ Jesus through the gospel. Therefore I urge you, be imitators of me. This is why I have sent to you Timothy… He will remind you about my ways in Christ Jesus, just as I teach everywhere in every church.

4. Apostles send delegates to act in their place.

Timothy, Epaphroditus, Erastus, Tychicus, Onesimus, Titus, Epaphras, etc.

Eph 6: 21-22 (Col 4:7-9)
Tychicus, our dearly loved brother and faithful servant in the Lord, will tell you everything so that you also may know how I am and what I’m doing. I am sending him to you for this very reason, to let you know how we are and to encourage your hearts.

To remind you about my ways in Christ Jesus… 1 Cor 4.17
To strengthen and encourage you concerning your faith 1 Thess 3.2
To find out about your faith 1 Thess 3.5
To set right what was left undone Titus 1.5
To appoint elders in every town Titus 1.5
So that you may know how we are, and so that he may encourage your hearts. Col 4.8

5. Apostles make personal visits and write letters.

1 Thess 2: 17 -20
We greatly desired and made every effort to return and see you face to face… For who is our hope, or joy, or crown of boasting in the presence of our Lord Jesus at His coming? Is it not you? For you are our glory and joy!

6. Apostolic absence is necessary for growth.

Phil 2: 12
So then, my dear friends, just as you have always obeyed, not only in my presence, but now even more in my absence, work out your own salvation with fear and trembling.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

